New Articles

Open source Java projects: Apache Spark (external link) by Steven Haines on Aug 25, 2015

Spark is a computational engine that manages tasks across a collection of worker machines in what is called a computing cluster. It provides the necessary abstraction, integrates with a host of different data sources, and analyzes data very quickly. This installation in the Open source Java projects series reviews Spark, describes how to set up a local environment, and demonstrates how to use Spark to derive business value from your data.


Devs are from Venus, Ops are from Mars, Containers: Amazon Web Services, Part I (external link) by Steven Haines on May 6, 2015

This is the first in a series of articles about containers, starting with Amazon Web Services (AWS). This article provides an introduction to AWS and discusses Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) and AMI instances.

Search Results

Navigate the table of contents on your left, choose a topic, and then I'll find articles about that topic for you!

Table of Contents

Computer Science/java/cs

Design Patterns/java/cs/designpatterns

Data Structures/java/cs/datastructures

Theory/java/cs/datastructures/theory

Linked Lists/java/cs/datastructures/linkedlists

Hash Tables/java/cs/datastructures/hashtables

Trees/java/cs/datastructures/trees

Algorithm Analysis/java/cs/algorithmanalysis

Architecture/java/architecture

UML/java/architecture/uml

Event Driven Architecture/java/architecture/eda

Java SE/java/javase

Java EE/java/javaee

Spring/java/spring

Cool Tools/java/cooltools

Big Data/java/bigdata

Source Code Management/java/scm

Application Platforms/java/applicationplatforms

Virtualization/java/virtualization

Performance Management/java/apm